Country Analysis Briefs
Algeria is important to world energy markets because it is a significant hydrocarbons producer and exporter. Algeria is a member of OPEC and an important, growing energy source for Europe.

Angola is sub-Saharan Africa ’s second largest oil producer, and its production is expected to reach 2 million barrels per day by 2008. Major offshore oil finds have also made Angola a key focus of hydrocarbon exploration in sub-Saharan Africa .

The Arab Maghreb Union (AMU), which includes Mauritania, Morocco, and Tunisia (note: due to their size and importance, Algeria and Libya are covered in separate reports), is an important oil and gas producer, exporter, and transit center to southern Europe. Natural gas production from the region is increasing rapidly, and new pipelines to Spain and Italy are being planned.

With the completion of the 650-mile Chad-Cameroon pipeline in July 2003, Chad has become a significant energy producer. The pipeline has also created new opportunities for Cameroon to revive its declining petroleum sector.

With increased interest in offshore West Africa and the development of new offshore oil fields, Congo-Brazzaville is becoming increasingly important to world energy markets.

Natural gas reserves and excess electricity generating capacity have allowed Côte d'Ivoire to become a significant regional energy supplier in coming years. Recent offshore discoveries in the Gulf of Guinea, including natural gas finds in its territorial waters, make Côte d'Ivoire a major area for hydrocarbon exploration in sub-Saharan Africa.

Egypt is a significant oil producer and a rapidly growing natural gas producer. The country's first liquefied natural gas (LNG) export terminal began operation in January 2005. The Suez Canal and Sumed Pipeline are strategic routes for Persian Gulf oil shipments, making Egypt an important transit corridor.

Recent offshore oil discoveries and the prospects for additional finds make Equatorial Guinea one of the leading areas for oil exploration in sub-Saharan Africa.

Gabon is sub-Saharan Africa’s sixth largest producer crude oil. Because declines in oil production have raised concerns about the longevity of Gabonese reserves, the government has begun to encourage development of the non-oil sector to diversify its economy.

The following provides a brief overview of the energy sectors of the Great Lakes region -- Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda.

The following provides a brief overview of the energy sectors of the Horn of Africa region -- Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia and Somalia.

Libya is a major oil exporter, particularly to Europe. With the lifting of U.N. sanctions against Libya in September 2003, oil companies are eager to resume and/or expand operations in Libya.

An OPEC member, Nigeria is the largest oil producer in Africa and the eleventh largest in the world. The country is a major oil supplier to both Western Europe and the United States.

The Republic of South Africa is Africa ’s largest energy consumer and second largest energy producer. A major coal producer and exporter, South Africa also has a highly developed synthetic fuel industry and small reserves of oil.

The following provides a brief economic and energy sector overview of Southern Africa, including the fourteen countries that make up the Southern African Development Community (SADC). SADC member-states are Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Sudanese crude oil production and exports have risen rapidly over the past few years, with the Sudanese Energy Ministry expecting production to reach 500,000 barrels per day in 2005. Exploration and production are expected to increase as a result of a December 2004 Comprehensive Peace Agreement to end Sudan's 21-year civil war.

The following provides a brief economic and energy sector overview of the fifteen countries that make up the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS). ECOWAS members include: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d'Ivoire , The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.


Central America and Caribbean
Middle East
Newly Independent States
North America
South America